# Secure Messaging privacy policy

The Secure Messaging tool is a component of the Guardian app. The privacy policy for the Guardian app can be found in the app Settings page. 

Additional security and privacy measures when you use the Secure Messaging tool are described below.

### All Secure Messaging users are anonymous

This tool is designed to be used anonymously. As a consequence, messages sent to our journalists using Secure Messaging contain no accompanying data about who sent that message, from where, and from what kind of device. We can't even tell exactly when you wrote a message.

Even if you are signed in to the Guardian app, your sign-in details are unavailable to the Secure Messaging feature. Similarly, the rest of the Guardian app on your mobile device does not know if you are sending messages to the Guardian using Secure Messaging. 

The Secure Messaging tool cannot reveal anything about you that you don't choose to tell us.

Your correspondence with our journalists is held in an encrypted vault on your phone. This vault is secured by a passphrase known only to you. Messages disappear automatically after 14 days.

SPACE

BUTTON
Passphrase security
Read more
button_help_keeping_passphrase_safe

SPACE

At the point at which you send any information to us, the Guardian’s Editorial Code applies. See theguardian.com/editorial-code

Last updated January 2026
